About Us

The Pikes Peak – Rocky Mountain Council

The Pikes Peak – Rocky Mountain Council of the Boy Scouts of America provides Scouting for nearly the whole of Southern Colorado. With the headquarters in Colorado Springs and Pueblo, and through the support of hundreds of volunteers and professional staff, the council is able to serve youth all from Salida to the Kansas state border and from Castlerock to Trinidad.
Pikes Peak – Rocky Mountain Council has more than 200 units scattered across its region including family Cub Scout packs, Scouts BSA troops from boys & girls, co-ed Venturing crews, and career-oriented Exploring posts.

To find a group of Scouts near you, enter your zip code below and we will connect you with one.

The National Council

The Boy Scouts of America (BSA) is one of the largest Scouting organizations in the United States of America and one of the largest youth organizations in the United States, with nearly 2 million youth participants and 1 million adult volunteers. The BSA was founded in 1910, and since then more than 110 million Americans have been participants in BSA programs at some time. The BSA is part of the international Scout Movement and became a founding member organization of the World Organization of the Scout Movement in 1922.

The BSA’s goal is to train youth in responsible citizenship, character development, and self-reliance through participation in a wide range of outdoor activities, educational programs, and, at older age levels, career-oriented programs in partnership with community organizations. For younger members, the Scout method is part of the program to instill typical Scouting values such as trustworthiness, good citizenship, and outdoors skills, through a variety of activities such as camping, aquatics, and hiking. In order to further these outdoor activities, the BSA has four high-adventure bases: Northern Tier (Minnesota, Manitoba, and Ontario), Philmont Scout Ranch (New Mexico), Sea Base (Florida), and Summit Bechtel Reserve (West Virginia).

The traditional Scouting divisions are Cub Scouting for children in grades K-5, Scouts BSA for youth ages 11 to 17 and Venturing and Sea Scouting for young men and women ages 14 (or 13 and having completed the 8th grade) to 20.

The BSA operates traditional Scouting by chartering local organizations, such as churches, clubs, civic associations, or educational organization, to implement the Scouting program for youth within their communities. Units are led entirely by volunteers appointed by the chartering organization, who are supported by local councils using both paid professional Scouters and volunteers.